Illinois Municipal Electric Agency

IMUA Scholarship Program

The IMUA Scholarship Program was established to recognize outstanding young men and women in our member communities and increase awareness of the value municipally-owned utility systems bring to their communities.

Each spring, graduating high school seniors whose families reside in (or take utility service) from an IMUA municipality are eligible to participate in an essay contest. Each winner receives a $1000 award from IMUA to be used for college tuition. (Click Here to see a list of our member municipalities.)

Essay topics are established in the spring and contestants must submit their essays by the deadline date. Essays are judged by a panel. Employees and children of IMEA, IMUA or IPEA are not eligible.

For more information on this years essay topics and deadlines, please contact DeeDee Bunch at 217-789-4632.

Electronic Application and Instructions

2019 winners include:

        Nathan Canavan – Springfield (CWLP)
        Carissa Cavicchioni – Naperville
        Emma Bradford- Bushnell
        Nathan Feldmeier- Waterloo

IMUA wishes to thank the following Members and Associate Members for their donations to the Scholarship Program:

Batavia Bethany Bushnell Carlyle
Calyle Carmi Cobden Flora
Geneseo Highland Metropolis Oglesby
Rochelle Rock Falls St. Charles Springfield (CWLP)
Associate Members      
Vermeer Sales & Service of Central IL, Inc. Border States Civic Systems Drake-Scruggs Equipment Inc.
The L.E. Myers Company Illinois Power Marketing Utility Design Services Fletcher-Reinhardt Co.
Power Line Supply Fairbanks Morse Engine Altorfer, Inc. NextEra energy Marketing, LLC

IMUA also thanks our Scholarship Committee for their hard work and contribution to the program. Members of the Scholarship Committee are:

        Amber Sabin - Springfield, Chair
        Cory Sheehy - City of Marshall
        Dan Cook - City of Highland       
        Tom Bruhl - City of St. Charles
        Josh Eckhart - City of Red Bud